Living my dream

By Mima

The East Side…

…of the tunnel house.

It is now filled up with plants. In the pots there are capsicum peppers, basil, coriander and dill; plus some surplus tomatoes which may or may not end up in my FFL’s glasshouse (if he gets his a into g and picks them up). There is a half-tunnel-length raised bed down the other end, which is full of sweetcorn plants, all growing like topsy.

All the pots mean that this side of the tunnel requires hand-watering every morning in hot weather. I don’t mind in the slightest because it gives me the chance to get up close and personal with the plants, so I spot any changes before they become problems.

We had a dry morning, during which I spread pea straw all over G’s herbaceous border and then came home to line trim the roadside verge (hip-height grass). After lunch the rain returned.

We’ve had enough rain now…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.