Living my dream

By Mima

The West Side…

…of the tunnel house.

I scored the metal mesh in the foreground as I walked along the road yesterday. It was lying there, presumably having fallen off a trailer. I picked it up and brought it home, and it is the perfect frame up which the cucumber plants will climb. They are in the small pots just along the raised bed and will be planted out in the next few days.

The remainder of the bed is taken up with 15 tomato plants, all thriving in the loads of compost I added to the bed a couple of months ago.

The tunnel is 10.5m long. The raised bed has seepa hose running along its length and back, beneath the weedmat. I give it 3/4 hour of (low pressure) water each day. I’ll increase that to an hour or more once the fruit has set and the weather heats up.

Tomorrow: The East Side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.