Living my dream

By Mima

‘Night ‘night

This is the last thing I gaze at at night before sleep. Every time I look at it I see something new and it reminds me of a healing time in my life.

It is an oil and pastel depiction of the Paps of Jura and Corrievreckan which was created by an artist called Jane Jeffries.

I WWOOFed for Jane in the summer of 2000 when she lived at Kilberry in Argyll. It was a calm soothing garden in which to work as I put my life back together after my husband’s death the previous year. Jane was a gentle WWOOF-host who helped me as much as her garden did.

The painting hung outside my bedroom door in her house, and I fell in love with it the moment I first saw it. When I moved on after a few weeks it had lodged itself in my mind and it wasn’t long before I asked Jane if I could buy it. What a relief when she agreed.

Sadly since then I’ve lost touch with Jane, but a part of her has travelled Earth with me, always hanging in a position where I can drink it in.

I have just written it into my Will; leaving it to somebody who appears to love it as much as I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.