Living my dream

By Mima

Teddy Bear

That is the name of this variety of dwarf sunflowers. I am very surprised to see them in flower already. Somehow I associate them with high summer. But there they are and they are beautiful.

I had intended to return to K’s garden for the morning, but after 9mm of rain yesterday evening everything was dripping and soggy and I didn’t fancy crawling around in her flower beds, weeding and getting muddy. I’ll go there tomorrow. 

Thus released I took off into town for a badly-needed haircut. It was annoying me intensely, flopping into my eyes and making my head too hot in the increasing temperatures. 

I frequent a no-appointment hairdresser and it is always a journey into the unknown: how long will the queue be ahead of me? How long will each cut take? Will the sofa be occupied and will I end up sitting on the wooden window seat? Who will be there, chatting about what topics?

Today there was one lady in the chair, and two more were waiting for cuts - and occupying the sofa. So I perched on the rather high window seat, pulled my book out of my bag, put on my reading glasses and spent a contented hour reading about a Welsh garden*.

There was space for me to move onto the sofa to relieve my numb bum after half an hour. And 30 minutes later I was ushered onto the chair, where I requested a “summer cut”. 

I come to you with ears once more revealed, a forehead getting used to being in daylight again, and air whooshing around my neck. Perfect.

Happily Bean recognised me when I returned to the car.


*= The book is “Seed to Dust” by Marc Hamer: an absorbing and delightful book. I borrowed it from the library and am considering buying my own copy. It’s one to return to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.