Slow Burn

On This Day In History
1954: Meteor strikes Alabama woman

Quote Of The Day
"I would rather be ashes than dust!
I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot.
I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet.
The function of man is to live, not to exist.
I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them."

(Jack London)

You are entitled to your opinion Jack, of course, but I rather think there is something to be said in favour of the prolonged life lived healthily, quietly and soberly; meditative, contemplative, happy and humble. After all, the Sun has been burning for over four billion years, and it certainly doesn't lack radiancy.

Glitter And Ash

Quiet Men

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.