earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Bathing in Mist

Having been caught by surprise yesterday, I was up and ready to go this morning, except there was only a little bit of mist to be seen, well beneath me at the bottom of the valley. There's really no predicting these things. So, I made an early start with work, only to look out the window a little later and find that there wasn't much to be seen. The mist was filling in. I was soon out of the door and getting above it again. This shot is taken from almost the same place as yesterday's, just ten feet or so back from the tip of the Crocodile's nose - I swear I felt it move yesterday - looking ninety degrees turned to the west. 

It was like there were taps down the valley, pouring in mist, as if filling a bath. It's hard to imagine where else it can all come from. I could see billows of suds at times too. I tried to stay in the twilight zone as much as I could, spotting many more brocken spectres along the way, until eventually the bath was full and the sun all but disappeared. It was a cold and gloomy run back home from the far end of the moor.

There were a few other people about and it's always fun to point out their spectres to them, It comes as a rather magical surprise to most - although more and more people are getting clued up now. I met a few who already knew the legend of our local brocken spectre whisperer. Her fame is spreading! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.