Cambridge

It's been a long day, and I'm still far from home. I got up earlier so had breakfast with my hosts. Ever since I made the booking I've been communicating with them in French, and it's been a good exercise! However, they're very proper so I've been having to speak my most polite French: using "vous" and avoiding all the slang and swearing that is used at times in A's family!

I got to Gare du Nord in good time for the Eurostar to London where, for the first time in days I saw good sunshine. From St Pancras I took a train to Cambridge, where I returned to the cold and low cloud I'd had in France. No matter, I was only there long enough to chat with a few people from a company that's sponsored our software and give a research talk about it. Then it was back to the station, for the first leg of my journey home, and the sleep that I badly need!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.