KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Food tech

Mince pies and bunnies..
dubious hand hygiene..
I think I'll skip, thanks!

Ben was very good again last night, his bloods were low again so I was in and out of his room with juice and finger pricks etc.  Eventually I had messed him about so much that he struggled to get back to sleep, so that was a bit of a 'doh' moment.  I fretted about it for half an hour as although he was calm, he was adamant he couldn't get back to sleep and then miraculously he just fell asleep about 3am so that was a WIN.  
The morning was tricky today but I won't go into it all.  Needless to say I am very ready for Mr KCNQ2Haiku to come home, he should be back by tomorrow morning so hopefully I've done my last solo breakfast :-D
I bought Ben an advent calendar with mini cars inside to avoid the sugar problem at breakfast but he also has a grandparent-provided chocolate calendar and it wreaked havoc with his bloods this morning.  He was really high before school, then I was distracted and forgot his coat (1st Dec and about 3 degrees.. whoops) so I had to turn the car around and go and fetch it.  Finally dropped him at school and made it home for them to ring and say they'd run out of strips for his glucose monitor and could I bring some in?!  Gah.  
It was also food tech today, Ben has made mince pies which I have merrily displayed for you on my childhood plate that we called my Bunny Run Round plate (classic case of 'say what you see'!!).  School cooking though.. am I alone here that I have zero confidence in the hand hygiene and associated contents of the offerings??  "Would you like to try one Mummy??"  Um, mmm, smells lovely, what a beautiful job you've done... let's put them away for later/I wouldn't want to steal them from you/actually I just ate/yes, I'll have one in a minute...  Insert appropriate non-committal response! He had one after his tea and enjoyed it but heaven knows how many carbs are inside?? I think just standing next to them will raise his blood sugar :-/  In fact, when he came out of school they told me his bloods were 23!! I was shocked... surely not??  What's going on?  Hold on, I said... has he just been cooking in food tech?  Have you washed his hands?? :-D Fortunately the high reading was just off the outside of his fingers rather than his blood reading!  Phew.
I'm also rather smug as I have made a mini vegan ragu for myself, I find it really hard to cook when it's just for me, it seems pointless but after a few days of jacket potato and grain pouches(!) I have made myself a proper meal!
Right, Ben was quite grumpy that I'm doing this rather than playing with him but he actually pulled himself together and has been on the trampoline (in the dark!) and now turned on the xbox so I'm going to go and tell him he's doing a good job and give him some attention :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.