Kazi kubwa

Big work.

The principal reason for this visit to our field office in Masasi has been a demand by the ‘Foreign Employment Committee’ of the Vice President’s Office to check out the contributions of foreigners in the team.

This sounds like it could be stressful, but I think and I hope that I’m moving into a new phase of (better) stress management. Certainly it’s highly undesirable to have this demand to host a delegation over a weekend and be working throughout. There’s also a very potentially overwhelming workload looming with at least three overlapping activities with demands on my time the week of December 5th, none of which can be executed satisfactorily at this stage. I’m finding that I’m still very susceptible to stress in the moment but that I’m holding it with me much less at evenings and weekends. It’s moved from quite a continual state to something reserved for work time only (even though there is still a lot of effort required to reduce working hours).

Whatever processing is going on in the dark recesses of the mind, I welcome these developments. This sector is always going to have a heavy slice of crazy to mitigate as best we can.

This kid with an attitude came and stared me down (up) when I was at the guesthouse gates. He wasn’t doing much of what’s written on his sandals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.