Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Catching

Today it happened that I had no patients booked. When I noticed that very unusual occurrence last week, I decided to take a day's leave. Later I found out that today happened to be my kids' school cross-country day. Perfect. ^_^

The first of the two of them to run was Miss 7. Being in year 2 she had the option of running with the 8 and 9 year old girls, or with her year and the year 1 kids. She decided against running with the older ones, but as they were about to go, three lads were talking to her and encouraging her strenuously to hurry across and join that race. Finally, after the race started, she decided she would. She made an absolutely monumental effort, and before the pack was halfway up the field, she was halfway through the pack.

Amazingly, she was then one of the first to come back onto the field from the loop through the rest of the school. But she didn't want to (perhaps after all that didn't have the energy left to) continue to the second lap, and so didn't finish. Still, I'm really impressed.

Then a bit later came Mstr 5's turn. He charged off, but then slowed down to a bit of a steady trot, I think because he was running with his friend. Somewhere along the line that went out the window though, and when he came back onto the field he was running rather on his own. He slowed a bit down that final stretch and another lad drew level, at which point my boy displayed a pretty respectable kick, nailing third place. 8)

He's very pleased, and I'm really impressed with him as well.

In the end I chose to blip this of Missy because it really shows off her stride and pumping arms as she was catching the pack. Check her out larger.

Well now. While I wait for all these photos to finish processing, I believe I'll make a coffee, snaffle some stem gingernuts as made by mrs tsuken, and watch some more Dr Who. I think my run this morning (brief as it was) and monster gym session with mrs tsuken have easily justified at least two bikkies. xP

... Processed, uploaded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.