Sleet and sunshine

About here, I left the fog behind and headed on towards Malham.  I made sure I stopped early for a photo because I'd seen an ominous blue patch heading over Malham Moor on the forecast.  It didn't say that yesterday!  

As I was heading up Brootes Lane, I heard a few spits land on my helmet and then saw a few thicker splats of snow.  I didn't mind it here.  I'd committed now.  I was in luck. The worst of it, I could see ahead and, with an unusual easterly today, that meant it was staying ahead.

For a winter ride, the first forty miles felt pretty good and it's always a high value ride in terms of scenery.  There was lots of bird life too which kept me entertained as well as a few pregnant sheep and the odd cow to chat to on the way. 

For the last twenty, I was definitely tiring but I was dressed perfectly for the cool temperatures and on the last ten, the sun made a weak appearance which is something to behold in the valley with all the fog that there's been.

Now for summoning up the energy to cook tea.  Don't miss Strictly tonight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.