Dead Boats at Balallan

We didn't do much this morning, just had breakfast, paid up our bill and drove up towards Stornaway. Not far into Lewis I saw two big birds in the sky, put two wheels up on the verge and grabbed my camera. My standard lens is a 400mm equivalent and I grabbed a few shots for identification purposes. I put my longer lens on but by this time they were too far away. I wasn't really in any doubt that they were Golden eagles but the poor definition photos have confirmed it for me. Good to see and I hope we might see more in the coming week.

I took the South Lochs turn off at Balallan. There are a couple of abandoned boats there which I thought could be my blip if nothing else turned up. We carried on into Stornoway, had a wander round and found somewhere to have lunch then continued to the airport and handed the car back.

We were well early for our flight to Glasgow and it was delayed so we've had a lot of waiting around but we're now holed up in an airport hotel and will pick up a car tomorrow and drive up to the highlands. I'm looking forward to being back there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.