The Making of a Land - Geology of Norway

As the title suggests this is a book about the making of what we now call Norway.  It was recommended to me by blipper FergInCasentino, after our camper van trip to Norway.
It took a while to locate but they had a copy at Uppsala University and I borrowed it via inter-library loan from my local library. What a wonderful service the libraries are!
The book is for geologists far more knowledgeable than I am, so I've skimmed over a lot of it. As always the time scale of geology blew my mind. The area we know call Norway is starting its journey in the picture. It's on the equator and is going to drift north over the next 800,000,000 years, when it will reach it's present position. On the way it will collide violently with Greenland and crumple both  up (into a mountain range of Himalayan proportions) and down (into the Earth's mantle). The portion pushed down won't have time to really warm up and melt, because the mountain range above will erode away and the lower rocks will float back up to the surface before that can happen, somewhat metamorphised but still recognisable. Much else happens too along the way but I'll stop at those examples.
 It makes me a little philosophical about our troubled times when I place it in a timescale like this.
The book finishes with a review of where things will be 50 million years into the future. Norway will be a fair bit further north. Greenland will be twice as far away as now. Iceland will have disappeared beneath the waves. There will be a high mountain range where the Mediterranean sea now is. The authors think it unlikely there will be humans around to see this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.