freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

We are all in the gutter

but some of us are looking at the amazingly intense orange lichen.

Both my sister and I have been feeling our mortality recently (I sing to her down the phone "Death shall claim us, Death shall claim us") - neither of us have partners, neither of us are as young as we used to be, and both of us sometimes wonder if we will ever find "that special someone".

I continued my exploration of Jedburgh early this evening, and amongst other things I enjoyed rolling about on the ground in the Episcopal church's graveyard, aware that just a few feet down was all that remains of the town's former residents.

I find it a constant source of bemusement that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Here we all are blipping from the four corners of the globe, and yet we all still care about the same few things - loved ones, our place in the world and connecting with each other.

Life must be a lot simpler if you're a symbiotic association of a mycobiont with a photobiont. But then you don't get to sip red wine while listening to George Jones pouring his heart out, or the Fountains of Wayne telling it like it is. Or blipping :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.