Last light through the trees

It's cold outside, so I have hardly been going out. I do not like it.

I bought my mom an iPad and keyboard for it for Christmas. I've been setting up the iPad over the past few days. This evening I bought plane tickets and reserved a rental car because I am going to visit her for Christmas. I'm going to tell her, but with her memory problems, my showing up will likely be a surprise to her. That's fine. It'll be like a Christmas movie.

I'm hoping to get her vaccinated, even if it's just one shot. I don't know how I can get her the vaccine rounds after the initial shot, but one is better than none. Her brother keeps her home-bound and practically controls her every move. He seems to think she's significantly less capable of anything than she really is.

Of course, I am seeing this all from the other side of the country and mostly only her end of the story. Though when her brother writes me, he does seem to really emphasize how helpless she is. I don't get that impression when I talk to her on the phone. So I am hoping to visit and try to help her out a little.

The iPad can help because it will let her communicate with friends again. For some reason, her brother thinks she can't even use a computer. I hope I can fix this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.