Still Life With Shoes

I have recently been refreshing my sadly neglected wardrobe, my clothes expenditure having been next to nothing for some years. Having been a teenager in the colourful sixties, I was immediately struck by the drabness of the clothes currently on offer to men. Even when the same item was being made available to men and women, the most interesting colours were only available in women's sizes.

The juniper fleece coat seen at the back of this picture is a case in point, but the women's sizes extended to my own size and when it arrived and I tried it on, it fitted perfectly. It was the same story with the grape-coloured shoes although I wouldn't have thought the colour was especially associated with women. Luckily I share a shoe size with large-footed women, it seems.

By this time the shoes arrived I had become hardened in my desire to reclaim proper colours for men's clothes and went all out and ordered the fuchsia (not pink!) summer jacket as a big f***-off to gender specific straight-jacketing, and have enjoyed wearing it.

I'm not about to start wearing skirts or make-up ;-).

L.
10.5.2013

Blip #976
Consecutive Blip #014
Day #1134

Still Life series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Coasters - Shoppin' For Clothes (1960)
featuring Billy Guy (ld vcl) and with King Curtis (sax)

One year ago: Newbury

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.