Rivington, first light.

I was a little "arghhh' when the start time of the course I'm observing this weekend was brought forward an hour, but this, together with a lovely bunch, more than made up for it.

I'd doubt it ever got much above 6°C today, but wall to wall sunshine made it feel a lot warmer, fab.

We had lots of talk about inclusivity today, about how 95% of course providers look like me, old, fit, white and male. I can't change that from the outside, but I can promise that when we become a provider we'll make sure that we recruit, train, empower and employ tutors and course directors that better reflect the really real world.
On the drive home I listened to a debate about the latest Palace (or societal if you prefer) racism row, about how the Palace have stated that everyone has been reminded about their obligations to be racially respectful, how further diversity awareness training will be manadated...and I thought to myself, there it is. Its 2023. If being accepting of diversity needs to be mandated, if inclusivity and respect aren't simply part of who you are by now.. then you're part of the problem whether you know it or not. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.