Philosophy Friday

Twice in the last week I've delivered emotionally challenging mental health training to my peers. Some have known me exceptionally well, held me in the dark, but many also probably feel they know me - mountaineering is a small world - and to a certain extent they do. They know this latter life me, I've a level of profile (I know, I know, that sounds pretentious) and I'm fairly public. And often that version of me is as much as they need to know.
And then we do the mental health course, and it's only right that I'm honest and open about the journey to here. I hope the fact I'm here and able to tell that tale, to try and help others, I can only hope that says enough.

At the end of the course I always get good feed back, but sometimes, just on occasion, someone writes something, or says something, and it makes me know I'm on the right path.
Last night one of yesterday's participants, someone I've done a fair few hill days with, someone I know well enough to know that telling them about the last decade had to be done carefully, well they sent me a little picture of the most beautiful words.

Philosophy Friday
I LOVE WHEN PEOPLE WHO HAVE BEEN THROUGH HELL, WALK OUT OF THE FLAMES CARRYING BUCKETS Of WATER FOR THOSE STILL COONSUMED BY THE FIRE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.