Social. Learning. Distant.

Back out to deliver another course, Outdoor First Aid.
One participant who works for a large walking holiday company, told me that over 21 years he'd done 7 courses. This is the first time he's gone outside though.

A lot of people in the outdoor sector simply want a ticket, and that's their choice, I'm (a) never going to employ them (b) work or play with them (c) consider them competent. It makes my marketing easier!

I think the group might have initially thought the fast walk up the road developing an understanding of asthma was enough. It wasn't. We headed out in the torrential rain and stayed out till we'd got the basics of scene, primary & secondary survey right. There's a fine line in making it real, but keeping them able to learn. I think I'm pretty good at walking that line, but tomorrow, we'll find out when training (continues) becomes doing it for real (ish; no-one will actually be hurt).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.