Mikey88

By Mikey88

Berberis

I haven't been anywhere today (apart from doing the weekly shop), so today's picture is from the garden. I blipped a picture of the berberis blossom a couple of weeks ago, and now the petals are falling away revealing the embryonic berries.

I love the contrast of colours between the stems, the petals and the soft green of the developing stamens.

Did a few bits in the garden - removed windblown leaves from the pond, planted some hollyhock seeds in a seedtray and some in a small area outiside in the garden. I don't hold out much hope for them as the slugs and snails love them and tend to demolish them overnight as soon as they are planted out.

I also had another go at the ivy hedge, trying to get it's height down. I bought an extending hedge trimmer, but the branches are so thick, it's not making much of an impact on the height before it encounters branches too thick for it to hands. Back to the secateurs and pruning saw!

It began to rain just after I came in for a cup of tea, so I thought I get an early blip up for a change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.