Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Skeleton

This isn't the only skeleton that has turned up over the past couple of days. This was a rat that hid amongst papers in a box, somewhat longer than it intended!

I've held a garage nearby as, with no room here, I had to store a motorbike. The bike is now gone so I've been clearing the garage to return to the estate. Shamefully I've only been in a few times in the past couple of years to retrieve something or to fill dedicated boxes with blocks of rat bait. The roof has developed a leak over the past year. I hadn't inspected far beyond the contents by the door and, for my stupidity, have had to dispose of a lot of things that I'd have much preferred undamaged. I have only myself to blame.

What was saved from dripping water has either been attacked by the wet stuff rising from the floor, been peed on in copious amounts by rodents or munched up to make their nests. I acknowledge that this entire entry is grim.

Having rescued about as much as I can, the car's full of damage for the tip. It's been painstaking to pick through most of the old files with my finger tips and having to burn just about everything. Many of the papers themselves were skeletons of my past life which I'd have treasured more, if I'd really cared to remember. Religiously filed were also bank statements, car documents and every bill I'd paid since returning to the UK. If the inland revenue or other government body ever need anything of me, I hope to hell they have copies on file! Anything to be kept has to be washed in bleach and found a new home for. Urrgh... the bath is essential!

Hopefully, it won't take much more to finish my chore and the keys can go back. When your computer fails and you loose every last thing that should have been backed up, how do you feel? Add a load of dust, cobwebs and mould... I should feel like crying. Instead, there's a feeling of liberation, now that I'm clean

:) I'm glad my Fly fishing gave a few chuckles yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.