MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

One To Watch

It was my intention to post my first green nettle weevil of the season this Ascension Day, found as I beat the bounds of my property. I do it every day with my dog and she knows exactly where the boundaries are and won't cross them.

It used to be customary for parish schoolchildren, accompanied by the clergy, to walk through the parish on this day. The boys were struck with willow wands at the boundaries which, in the days before maps, concentrated in their minds the limits of the parish.

My pic is year 11 pupil Madeleine Shannon singing her own composition at Hertfordshire and Essex High School Spring Concert. She sang beautifully with feeling and is sure to go far. My granddaughter enjoyed playing her clarinet and ukulele.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.