a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Wet

A very brown picture today as December is certainly hitting all those "dull, dark, drizzly" adjectives just at the moment.  Fortunately the female reed bunting kept still for long enough for me to be able to grab this shot in fairly poor light.  Its actually got some seeds in its beak, which is why the top of the bill looks a bit peculiar - because its not the top of the bill at all, its a seed :-)

Earlier in the summer I couldn't understand why I hadn't seen more reed buntings as they are not a rare bird.  It's when you see a little brown bird like this against the brown of the reeds that you suddenly realise, that, while not in the same league as the bittern, they are actually quite well camouflaged.  I only spotted this one because I saw it fly into this clump of reeds.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.