a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Not yellow at all

Look at all that lovely yellow plumage - but, no, this is not yellow wagtail.  It is in fact the confusingly named grey wagtail.  The grey wagtail is a native of the UK, so you can see them enduring the colder wetter weather at this time of year, while their migrant yellow cousins sun themselves in Africa.

In the summer the male grey wagtail develops a black bib under its beak which helps distinguish it from its yellow cousin.  The other key identifier is the pale "eyebrow" line over the eye.  The grey wagtail's is whiteish while the yellow wagtail's is ... yellow (of course).

I nipped into the retail hell that is Cribbs Causeway earlier on today to pick up some bits and pieces that Dad's home tell me he needs.  I'd hoped that it being Monday morning things might reasonably quiet.  No doubt it was quieter than at the weekend, but it was still uncomfortably busy for my post covid senses.  I dare say I'll get back to being blasé about crowds in due course,  but just at the moment they still feel "wrong".  Clearly covid has done nothing for my heard mentality.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.