Life through the lens...

By ValC

The Santa Special.

Despite the very inclement weather...cold and wet ......9 of us set out from Haworth Station to do the Railway Children Walk.
Started raining as soon as we set off. It was quite muddy walking along the path by the little beck. ( extra collage)
Just before we crossed the railway the train hooted and came steaming past. ( extra collage)
The rain stopped as we walked up the hillside past the ‘ Railway Children’s house’.
It was therefore fine as we sat on the benches outside the museum in Haworth.

Five continued to Oakworth. MrC and a couple of his friends went for a coffee, and I had a look round the shops. Not very inspiring I’m afraid. I did buy some special Christmas cards. It wasn’t busy, but think people will be there later for the torchlight procession.

I nearly tripped over a dog in one of the shops.
He was sleeping peacefully oblivious of all the customers walking round him. Bruno was his name and I couldn’t resist taking a photo. ( see extra)

Before walking back to the car park I spied a pop up shop near the bottom of the street. Only opening Saturday and Sunday up until Christmas.
Part of it was a pop up bar and I treated myself to a mulled wine, sat by the lovely roaring fire. The wine was one of the best I have had. Chatted to the lady owner. They have just bought the premises and are going to open as a bar/ restaurant in the new year. Want to do something different which will attract the locals as well as tourists.
It will be called House of Bronte. 25 - 27 Main St. I certainly look forward to visiting again next year.

Walking back to the car we were just in time to see the Santa Special ( now called The Elf explorer) come steaming through the station. This year it wasn’t stopping at Haworth and so the platform was quiet. Seemed a shame as there wasn’t the usual Christmas atmosphere there.

We certainly enjoyed the walk. Good to catch up with a couple of ladies we haven’t seen for 12 months, and glad the rain stopped.
All in all a good day.

Advent Calendar Joke No. 4

I tried to catch fog yesterday. Mist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.