Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Junk store find

A travel day today from Florida to home that was much more pleasant than the trip to Florida. We did the trip in 9 hours which included a long lunch break. Good to be home!

While out yesterday afternoon to go check out a park with walking trails, we saw a junk/antique store so had to stop. I found these purple glass bottles that actually have a story. While in North Carolina at the grist mill where we stopped to view the waterfall and ended up buying grits I noticed a purple colored bottle in the window. It was a full size bottle, about pint size. I asked the owner about it as I had never seen a purple bottle in my junk shopping. He said it was a Col. Sam Johnson Proprietor, Richmond VA medicine bottle for A. Lancasters Indian Vegetable Jaundice Bitters from 1852. A cure all probably for what ailed people back then.

Imagine my delight when I found two tiny bottles! One has the same info as his bottle but tiny. The other says Straubhollers Elixir tree of life since 1880. The other side says Nectar The Golden Life of Health and Vitality. The bottles stamped with made in Taiwan on the bottom .

I think I was meant to have my own purple bottles.

On the value of them…I paid what they are selling for online.


I will be posting the Tiny Tuesday prompts for December in the Community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.