Unique!!

We were surprisingly full of beans after last night’s escapade, which was helpful as we checked out of the UJC and headed over the river. S was keen to see some of Roman Britain so we went to Bank Station and walked to the Guildhall Art Gallery and London’s Roman Amphitheatre. Fascinating place, small but perfect so as not to be overwhelming and as a bonus, it’s free. 

We moved on from there to the Royal Exchange. The plan was to have coffee, but it’s not open at the weekends. I’m normally in this area during the week so hadn’t realised. There were very few people about in this area of the City and it was freezing cold. S & R had a chat with two police officers and their horses, very sociable!! (In extras)

By the time we found a coffee shop open we were at Liverpool St. I was absolutely frozen and hadn’t a clue where we were!! This was our train terminus when we lived in Essex and the surrounding area has changed so much in the past 7 years. It wasn’t until we were inside and I could orientate myself that I knew east from west!!! 

We found Mrs Fogg’s Maritime Club and had coffee on the SS Rangoon 1872. It was one of the the quirkiest places that I have ever see. As we were about to leave I popped to the loo and was faced with this amazing decor. I hadn’t taken my bag with my phone, left it with R, so had to go back upstairs for it. This had to be my blip for today!!! This place is on my list to revisit. The girls all come into Liverpool St when we meet up so a handy meeting place.

Early afternoon we got to Kings Cross and joined the masses for a train north. We hadn’t booked seats as we had an open return. R was on a mission to get to the front of the train, way down the platform, to see what she could get. We were lucky and got seated. I would never had managed to stand for 90 minutes. 

A super trip away, but good to be home and warm. R made dinner before we sat down to watch England play football !!! A good result !!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.