Can We Fix It?

Possibly. When I saw Stuart last week, I noticed a shelf had come away from the wall in his kitchen. Looked like the Rawlplugs had worked loose, so I said when I saw him this week I’d bring some bigger plugs and longer screws to see if we could get it back firmly attached to the wall. I put my drill in the boot as well, just in case we needed to escalate things. And a hammer went in the boot as well, to be the “if all else fails” option.
As it happened the hammer wasn’t required, but I had to go a lot larger on plugs and screws than I intended, before I could actually get anything to grip in the crumbly Victorian brickwork. I suspect that, at some time in the future, we may need to move the shelf a couple of inches up the wall and drill four new mounting holes, but we’ll cross that bridge when (if?) we come to it.
Our usual Monday coffee was most welcome after all that, and we also called in at R&T Music as Stu had a tax refund burning a hole in his pocket. He had his eye on an Epiphone Les Paul Gold Top but actually walked out with a pointy headed Ibanez in Blue Moon Burst. That’s the trouble with that place - you go in with a specific guitar and/or budget in mind, but usually come out with something completely different and more damage to your bank balance than you intended. See my blip of last week for details!
And now I’m sure some of you are wondering if anything caught my eye while we were in there today. Possibly…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.