Hallelujah

Il Divo were formed in 2003 by Simon Cowell to capitalise on the success of the 3 Tenors. Mrs C was a fan from the outset and has most of their albums. But she had never seen them live so in 2019 I bought tickets for a show near us - in Blackpool - due to take place in December 2020. It was to be a surprise Christmas present, but we all know what happened that year and the tour was cancelled. Other dates were rescheduled for 2021, but not Blackpool, so I thought we’d missed out. Earlier this year I noticed that tickets were being advertised for December 2022 in Manchester and I was able to get a couple. Mrs C’s surprise present was back on. And I managed to keep it a secret right up until we entered the Bridgewater Hall. Even then, it took a while before the penny dropped, but she was absolutely delighted when she realised who we were there to see.
Unfortunately, one thing that had passed me by was that one of the group had sadly passed away due to Covid almost exactly a year ago. Even more poignantly, it happened in Manchester. This was the group’s first time back there since it happened so it was an understandably emotional evening, on and off the stage. They had asked a friend of theirs from the classical scene to help out on this tour and the four of them treated us to a fantastic couple of hours of superb singing backed by a small orchestra. A mix of traditional Christmas numbers interspersed with some of their best known hits. The picture was taken when the three surviving members performed “Hallelujah” as a tribute to their friend, with a spotlight on the empty stool where he would have sat. Very moving.
Highlight of the evening for me personally was the last number - “Oh Come All Ye Faithful”. We were encouraged to join in if we knew the words. Which the audience enthusiastically did. But then Il Divo switched to singing it in Latin - “Adeste Fideles”. And suddenly, I was one of very few people singing along. At my school we had always sung this carol in Latin so I knew it well. Finally, forty five years after leaving school, I had a chance to sing it again. I even got a knowing grin from Mrs C, as she has heard me banging on about singing this particular carol in Latin every Christmas, and knew how childishly happy I would be at this chance to show off my knowledge of arcane languages!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.