'Dim through the misty panes'

Today's blip should have been the spaniel on his 12th birthday. Unfortunately he took to his bed yesterday afternoon and is quite poorly. Hopefully he will bounce back tomorrow. Consequently I've been stuck in all day on dog-watch duties. I took the opportunity to sort through some of the stuff we've taken down from my late father's loft. It included a folder with some of my earliest printmaking. This is from a series I made (aged 13 or 14) inspired by Wilfred Owen's poem 'Dulce et decorum est'. This one was to illustrate the last two lines of the second verse: 'Dim, through the misty panes and thick green light, As under a green sea, I saw him drowning'. Hopefully you can see the 'drowning' soldier's distorted face and flailing arms on the righthand side with the onlooker (Owen) standing behind. I blipped another print from that series a few years ago which you can see here. At the time I thought it was the only surviving print from that series. There must be half a dozen more somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.