jessicadanielle

By jessicadanielle

The Happiest and Wildest 5 Year of My Life

I used to look at mountains and think, “no way I’ll ever climb that”. Doing ANYTHING outdoors was not my idea of fun. 

Stevie, on the other hand, would look at anything that he could climb and say, “doesn’t that look like so much fun? I can’t wait to get out there and do it all”. I’d roll my eyes every time. 

And, that’s kind of been the trajectory of our relationship for the last 5 years. 

Me, being intimidated by anything out of my comfort zone, and Stevie, running head first into any moment that he can experience. 

Steven sees the world in a uniquely beautiful way - with both skeptical and hopeful eyes. It often feels like a complete oxymoron, and I make fun of him all the time for it, but I wouldn’t be the woman I am today without his view on life. 

He’s been the thing in my life that I never knew I needed, and now know that I would never want to live without. Even if in some universe we were to go our separate ways, I will never be the same human that I was before meeting him. And, I’m forever grateful for that. 

I was once an insecure girl who always felt a bit like the black sheep in a group. Like my thoughts, opinions, and dreams were a danger to everything that I was supposed to become. 

Now, I’m a woman who’s never been more confident in who she is, in what she wants, and what she doesn’t want. I owe all of that to this man and the love that he’s shown me over the last 5 years. 

He’s given me the space to be, to do, to think, and to dream in a way that I never have before. And, I pray that in some universe I've been able to be half the partner for him that he is for me.

Here I am, at the top of a mountain in Scotland, (not the first that I’ve climbed btw), having traveled to almost 30 countries, owning my own business, and living life on my own terms. 

WHAT A RIDE we’ve been on. Half a decade. I can’t wait to see what adventures the next 5 years brings us. 

I love you belong comprehension, best friend. Muah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.