Ludicrously fast

After Mr Pandammonium hid some stuff and I tidied up other stuff, the living room looked vaguely respectable. Just in time for the man who was coming to install ludicrously fast internetz to come at the beginning of the time slot we’d been given.

He did banging and hoisting outside, then came inside and did drilling right through the wall, which he said was really thick. You know what they say about thick walls? Good windowsills.

He did something with the wire we’d been sent and with the the piece of paper with a QR code on it that we’d been sent. He asked for the router password – admin and wifi – then went back outside and did something quieter.

He said that even though we have all this ludicrously fast internetz, the only devices that will keep up are our phones. Hmm.

Then he went away and we tested the wifi signal. The photo shows the result from the Apple TV box on the telly. The figures on my phone are better.

It always seems weird to me that optic fibres aren’t in widespread use in communications because I did an assignment on that exact subject at school. I got the impression that it was a newish technology, but not so new it wouldn’t be everywhere in a few years. But it wasn’t.

Now, please excuse me while I download the whole of Netflix. I’ll see you in about 10–15 minutes ;)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.