WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Fall

The only photo I took today. Tagged Still Life on the Run.

A good day in the end. It started rather badly when I proposed to use the oven for the first time in four days, S having re-attached the glass on the door with the approved glue, held it in place with duct tape, and left it for more than the required 72 hours. I opened the (cold) oven door and it immediately came off in my hands. Since the bread had to go in, I bodged it back together with the usual pizza peel solution.

You'd have thought the oven would have been losing heat, but no -- the bottom crust got burnt. Worse still, I put my carefully made tarte au citron in for 20 minutes at 150C and it was massively overcooked to the extent of having a burnt patch on top :( Gutted.

Later I went to Picard to buy some other stuff, and was quite tempted to buy a replacement tart. I didn't though. It was our book group Christmas meal chez Mair -- as we did last year, for Covid reasons. We'd decided it was so much easier and more convivial to organise it at someone's home, but this time we cooked our own food instead of getting a takeaway. It was quite a spread, and my burnt offerings turned out to be acceptable -- the tart wasn't actually scrambled, just more solid than it should have been. We need to find a solution to the oven situation though!

We had a lovely evening -- delicious food and excellent company. I didn't get home till almost midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.