In Which There Are Snickerdoodles!

I'm getting together with some dear friends tomorrow for lunch, and we all promised to bring homemade cookies to exchange. It was somebody's idea also to bring pictures of ourselves as youngsters, for our own amusement.

Rumor has it that there's a last hippo (or two?) hanging around, and that my former boss and dear friend Judy might have to corral it and tell it lies to get it out of the house. (She's been passing her hippo collection along to me; believe me when I tell you that here, it rains HIPPOS!)

So this day found me making snickerdoodles from scratch. I bought fresh cream of tartar at Walmart last week, and we finally got eggs at Sam's Club. So I was ready to roll. Above is a plate displaying the results of my labors: about three dozen fresh snickerdoodle cookies. Hooray! (You may see our Christmas tree behind the cookies.)

My song is this one: REO Speedwagon, with Sweet Time.

Here is the recipe I used: Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles.

Added later: For any of you who may have never HAD snickerdoodles, they are very mild-mannered, almost shortbread-like cookies, with hints of cinnamon, vanilla, and cream of tartar. If you make them right, they are a bit crispy on the edges and soft in the middles. They are very easy on the tummy, and lovely to dip in a hot beverage of your choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.