RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Brick wall

A text-chat with BT this evening:

Hello, we are sorry for the long wait you had to go through, we are facing a huge volume today and are busier than normal days.You are connected to P,  how can I help you today? - 19:05

Thank you - I am in the process of making my Victorian house a passivhaus, with very thick insulation on the inside of the brick wall. I will want fibre broadband when I move back in next March but I do not want anyone drilling through the insulation. I can ask my electrician to make a hole now and instal conduit? Should it be close to where the landline cable currently enters the house? What diameter conduit do I need?  - 19:06

We can certainly work together and look for a possible solution. As we progress could you help me with your address and BT account number? - 19:08

(Address) I do not have a BT account. I think the person who lived there before me had a landline. - 19:09

0800 800 150
Mon - Fri 8am - 9pm
Sat 8am - 8pm
Sun 8am - 8pm
To get the accurate information you need to call on this number. - 19:12

I am not going to call that number. I called it yesterday and waited for 2 hours 17 minutes before I was cut off. I am using the text facility for technical information and thought you would be able to give me the information I need. Is there anyone technical in BT who can give me good advice?  - 19:14

I would be able to help with the technical issue but then your question is related to area and dimension which only our engineering team can provide. If you want me to raise a complaint about it, then please let me know. - 19:17

I thought I was talking to an engineering team. I'm not interested in complaining, I'm interested in accurate information. Can you ask an engineer to contact me?  - 19:18

Well for that I need to report a fault on the line. And there is no fault on the line I believe. - 19:23

This is surreal. Why don't you just say that BT is not prepared to give me advice about making a BT installation work?  - 19:24

I hope you understand that in every organisation there are different department who can work on different issue. And we have our dedicated team called sales - 0800 800 150 who can help you with your issues. But right now, do you want me to escalate it? - 19:27

I followed a link to 'Help and support >Contact BT >Technical support >Fix full fibre' and now you are telling me to contact the 'everything' number.  - 19:32

I understand what you are trying to tell me, but this is something only sales team can help you with. when you request for an upgrade, if an engineer installation is required then on real time basis you can advise the engineer of your needs and accordingly come to the best option of installation for your property. - 19:37

I need to know three months BEFORE installation how to set up the very unusual circumstances of my house. It will be too late in three months’ time as I cannot have an engineer drill through the insulation.  - 19:39

I'm escalating the issue to my supervisor. - 19:49

Hello. I am S, P's manager. How may we from the Broadband Faults department help you today? - 19:56

You probably can't. There is no fault. I am looking for technical information to help me prepare for asking you to instal fibre broadband in 3 months’ time. I am in the process of making my Victorian house a passivhaus, with very thick insulation on the inside of the brick wall. I will want fibre broadband when I move back in next March but I do not want anyone drilling through the insulation. Should I ask my electrician to make a hole now and instal conduit? If so, should it be close to where the landline cable currently enters the house? What diameter conduit would I need?  - 19:59

Thank you for the elaboration and I am afraid we do not have that information as we aren't from the installation/orders team as conveyed to you by my colleague. Thus for these information it will be best if you either contact our orders team over call or ask the engineer during installation of the fibre. Is there anything else with which we may assist you today? - 20:01

Please transfer me to an engineer, which is where I thought this chat link would bring me. I need to know three months BEFORE installation how to set up the very unusual circumstances of my house. It will be too late in three months’ time as I cannot have an engineer drill through the insulation.  - 20:01

I am afraid there is no such chat desk for engineering team as only faults and Billing team is available over chat. Would you like any further assistance from our end before end this chat? - 20:04

Please ask your managers to read through this exchange for quality and training purposes.  - 20:05

Thank you for the suggestion and I being a manager will surely take that as a feedback. Thank you for contacting BT repair chat. It was a pleasure assisting you. Take care & stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.