RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

I sent my draft - very draft - plan for the kitchen (created in Excel since the PC on which I had design software has broken) to the electrician last week so he knows where to put the 30amp socket for the oven. Today I got a phone call from Paul, one of the building company managers, asking what make extraction unit I'll want for my cooker hob.

What?! I can't afford to instal a kitchen as part of this build and I'm incapable of making decisions on the things I know I have to afford and order - why are we talking hobs and extraction units? Anyway, I'd assumed my MVHR system would clear humidity and smells from the kitchen. 

I didn't say it quite like that but Paul got the message and explained that the electrician wants to know what make so that he knows where to put the wiring for it. And no, the MVHR system won't be enough. 

I went off to look at extraction units and felt worse.

Paul reassured me that we could talk about it at tomorrow's site meeting...

I really wish that either the builder or the architect had a timeline of all the decisions I have to make, the details I have to plan and the things I have to buy. I have ordered the tiles far too early without a clear idea of how I'll use them and now I'm suddenly asked about an expensive bit of kitchen equipment that may not even be available by the time I can afford to give up my camping gas stove. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.