pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Puncture

Just over a week ago, I started sneezing and didn’t stop for about two days. I didn’t feel very well either, but just put it down to a light cold and/or allergies.

I tried to keep going as I had a busy weekend planned with Christmas dinner with Simmo, a football match at Old Trafford with m’boy and some much needed quality time with LadyV.

I made it about halfway through dinner with Simmo before it all went a bit pear shaped. The sneezing had subsided a little, but I was cold through to my core, couldn’t warm up and felt terrible. I hadn’t wanted to let her down, but with the benefit of hindsight should probably have cried off.

We left and I sent Simmo packing with my apologies before collapsing next to a radiator and hugging it.

The next morning - the day I was due to take m’boy for his birthday treat to Old Trafford to watch the Women’s Super League - I woke up frozen once more, but absolutely cascading with sweat as I sneezed and coughed my way out of bed. I popped some cold n flu pills, drank some orange juice and forced some porridge down me, but all to no avail. I was in no state to drive to Manchester, let alone spend a couple of hours sat in the freezing cold. Devastated, and in tears from the guilt of truly letting m’boy down for the first time, I told EW2 that we wouldn’t be going and please could she make my apologies to him - I didn’t want him to hear the state I was in.

I texted LadyV to let her down too, and apologised to Simmo.

I fell back into bed and remained there pretty much for the next three-four days as whatever virus (non-corona) it was/is went to town on my body.

Wednesday, I was able to move around a little without feeling about to keel over, and then Thursday I could sit at the screen for a bit, so got back to work. The children were coming back round (I hadn’t seen them in a week) and I wanted to infuse our time with some festive cheer, so sweating, coughing, spluttering and swearing, I got the effin’ tree into effin’ position for them to be able to decorate the eff out of it.

The virus seems to be waning and whilst I am a lot better than I was, I still needed a sit-down after the school run as I felt exhausted. I had to admit defeat that I wasn’t going to make LadyV’s Christmas Do, so let her down for the second time in a week and as the air continues to hiss from tyres all around me, I have decided that my supervillain name will be: The Puncture.

All this is a round about way of saying why I’ve not been on Blip for a little while.

**Collapses on keyboard. Probably drools.**

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.