Rather surreal

We had a really hard frost this morning ... everywhere was white!

When I topped up the feeders mid morning I noticed their water was iced over .... well I thought that was all it was but I soon found out otherwise! In fact there was very little water under the ice!

I tried to break it but couldn't ...... finally managed to tip it out in one big lump!

Having dropped it on the ground it did finally break into large pieces.

This is one of the smaller chunks of ice from it ...... it's about 1inch (2.5cm) thick .... no wonder I couldn't just break the surface!

Unfortunately it has cracked the dish so they now have to make do with a plastic plate until I can sort out an alternative!

There has been a lot of frantic feeding going on today ..... I've added an Extra of several Sparrows all trying to get on to one of the feeders at the same time!

Hope you all have a Tigger-tastic weekend .... stay safe & warm :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.