Nailbourne walk

Thursday was a beautiful day, a frosty morning melting into glorious sunshine, and I was delighted to find I could get my left foot into my walking boot for the first time in over a month. This liberated me to walk off-road, after a lot of circuits round the limited number of village pavements and lanes, so I went to the bottom of the valley and followed the Nailbourne. It's a winterbourne, which flows only when ground water levels are fairly high, so it's a good sign to see a steady stream now after our months of spring and summer drought. This stretch is on the opposite bank to the village, a pleasant path beneath a row of tall trees with wide views of the fields and downs, and a little further along a small bridge and a path across a meadow took me back into the village. The extras are taken from the other side, one from the bridge and one looking back through this line of trees to the stripes of hillside beyond. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.