Not sheep

I peeped between the curtains this morning to see thick fog and a very heavy frost. It was the coldest night so far. From the back door I could see a few cold sheep fuzzy in the mist, and decided they might be today's blip. One man from the window team was back this morning to complete the finishing and tidying. It's looking lovely, we are delighted. Now there is a lot of clearing and cleaning to do, to try to bring the surrounding room to a comparable standard! There's a lot of work to do outside too, to complete P's pruning and removal of terribly overgrown shrubs and replace them with a small paved patio and some flowers. 

I set out around mid-morning, well wrapped, to find that the sheep from my morning view had disappeared, moved elsewhere. I walked on along the road out of the village, but the next large field where I normally see sheep was also empty. I framed a bit of hillside, nicely bordered by a curve of misty trees which shaded an area of thick, white frost on the green winter wheat, and discovered I had forgotten to replace the camera battery, which I had taken out to charge last night. 

Later, the mist thinned to a soft haze with afternoon sun piercing through and as J started her dessert I saw soft, pink clouds to the south, above the downs, and streaks of more vivid pink to the east. To photograph the sunset colours, I would have to walk along the road; P was out and J still eating, so I stole some of her chocolate and gave up on proper photography for today.

Instead, here is a quick snap of some of the cards J has been making with M. They used her paint swirler to create brightly patterned circles in reds, greens, gold and silver, then cut them up. It's a poor quality photo, but I think the cards are effective. Some went to her care centre for their Christmas market, and she has kept some to send to her distant friends.

Yesterday's entry, which I have also uploaded this evening, is much nicer if you have time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.