Channel Cow

I'm very behind again. Saturday was a perfect winter day, crisp and bright with a heavy frost largely melting into a golden afternoon. After J's usual Saturday shower/pamper session and brunch, we went for an afternoon walk at Samphire Hoe, on the Channel coast just west of Dover. We arrived in wonderfully vivid, saturated light, and the little wooden tower straight out of Moominland contrasted vividly with its surrounding grass, looking out to the French coast and along the coast to the port of Dover. I've chosen the cow for my main photo, as I've blipped the tower and the view of the cliffs and seashore before, and it was a surprise to find both cows and sheep grazing on the area of rough meadow below the white cliffs and above the sea wall;  a small flock of ewes were accompanied by two or three bellwethers, their little bells sounding across the grassland in the still air. I like the pink-tinged light and little clouds, and I'm always happy to see France looking so close! The low sun was soon lost in a bank of cloud travelling along the channel, with beautiful, soft colours in the sky and clouds, making it difficult to resist a lot of minimalist sea and sky photos, which are not included in the extras as I've almost run out for this year - I may yet find myself going back to delete things. The second extra is looking west, with Folkestone Harbour Arm in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.