the light

The light this morning was so lovely. 
I saw deer.
Usually when I take pictures of animals I want the pictures to be sharp and the animals large ad clear in the picture. Then I took the picture of the eagle in the forest, the tiny little eagle in the great big forest, and I loved it. I've had it printed and I hope they print it dark. Today when I saw deer I enjoyed the pictures of them tiny, surrounded by enormous, towering trees. 

On my way home I saw my crows watching me from high above in the trees. 

Wish me luck on Monday, I'm going to try to help people make the world a better place by realizing what they do, how they do it, what they should do, and how they can do it better. If I succeed some of the credit will go to Kate because this is what I asked her about the other week. But it won't happen in one day and I am not good at patience. 

Bloomberg Businessweek had an article about Jeffrey Sonnefeld, the professor at Yale who created the list of foreign companies in Russia. Russia declared him an enemy of the state. He noticed that the first companies to move out weren't consumer brands but businesses with huge sunk costs and complex local ties, like oil giants, and tech companies and professional firms that don't like to offend their clients. The oil companies could see that their businesses, if they stayed would fund the war. The tech and professional companies had employee pressure. But all of the companies were upset that other companies were staying and sending thoughts and prayers and facing no consequences.  Sonnenfeld and his institute's research director began sorting through companies and then posted the list. On March 7  he commented on McDonald's staying and the next day McDonald's said it would leave. The list grew. It became more nuanced. Annoying people like me used it to pressure companies. 


Then he found that the businesses that quickly announced an exit had rising stock prices. The market rewarded them. 


Putin made more nuclear threats. Modi, Prime Minister of India, decided against holding his annual in-person summit with Putin. They have a strong relationship, India is happy to buy their fossil fuel, but meeting right after some nutcase threatens nuclear war is a bit much. 


The rumors about Putin's fall is that he fell, landed on his coccyx (which is incredibly painful), rolled onto his side, and slid two more stairs. The impact caused him to defecate due partially to cancer of the gastrointestinal tract. That said, it probably didn't happen because the next day he was touring a laboratory with no apparent signs of injury. 


A donor is matching all gifts up to $10m made to World Central Kitchen for Ukraine through Dec 31. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.