Recuperating...

from book club ... 

Maggie here.. again. 

I have had a few tough days lately...first those two dogs who came to visit, then the rearrangement of my living quarters to make room for the tree...and today? The woman has a book club meeting! Geez..does this ever end?

When humans visit, all those "save-the-upholstery-from-cats" cozy afghans and blankets that I love disappear...Even my special cat quilt for lounging on the floor in front of the fireplace? Nowhere to be found! And my toys? Gone..My life is in upheaval..again! 

People everywhere...Where to nap? Every seat in the living room is taken. And the noise level! So much talking! And laughing! and clinking of glasses...and much ado about the arrival of the Greek take-out food for dinner...and then out comes the computer for zooming with Pat, the missing book clubber who moved away..So much talking.....and then, tasty-looking dessert treats appear on the coffee table, but alas, not for me! Heavens no...But at least it is a sign that the party is almost over and I will soon get some attention from the woman and maybe, when she has cleaned up the kitchen, a treat or two before bed...?  

At last everyone leaves and peace returns...and I wait, recuperating upon the sofa, devoid as it is of all my cozy afghans ... wishing life would just  return to normal around here.

PS: The book was Bloomsbury Girls and from what I could hear, everyone liked it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.