A Lost Day..

I couldn't sleep, so I was up and about way too early this morning. When the sky finally started to lighten, and boredom had set in, I figured I might as well drive down to the lake lest there be a brilliant sunrise to lift my spirits. 

Alas, it was a rather subdued morning sky...still lovely, but too cold to hang around waiting for it to improve; so, I was back home in no time. I fed Maggie who had been puzzled by my hasty departure and was quite relieved to see me come in the door and offer food (!)  I had a coffee, tried to read for a while and then work on my Christmas cards but eventually I just gave in to whatever ails me, and spent the day in bed! So a lost day... gone.. nothing accomplished! There have been too many of those this past year..

I am so sick of being tired and never feeling up to scratch, but it appears I am not the only one! ! And that's a relief!  I thought it was just me! My friends - even people I hardly know - complain about it too; we have had all our vaccinations and flu shots, but are still not avoiding illness. Many have had Covid and thought they were over it, but the symptoms keep coming back; others, like me, have had this hellish flu that is going around but never seems to leave, and then there is that respiratory virus that especially affects young children. There is even a shortage of over-the-counter drugs for colds and flu which is a sign that something is amiss here.
 
Our hospitals are full, lots of people are off work, kids are home from school and there is now talk that we maybe we should not have removed that wearing of masks mandate? Hmmmm 

It has been a long three years of social isolation and illness and I think that has taken its toll on everyone in one way or another.....we are all tired of it...and sick of complaining about it...and I am sorry that I have done just that in this posting..so..no more complaining....I promise.

Dare we hope for a healthier and more uplifting 2023? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.