Hawk Eyes....

..gazing down from on high at my bird feeders, resident squirrels and baby rabbits far below....uh oh...

As much as I fear for my backyard wildlife, it really was wonderful to see those hawks posing like that...such beautiful, majestic birds.. almost asking me to take their portraits! 

After consulting Google and also my daughter who knows these things, it seems that they are immature Cooper's hawks and after reading more about them, it is obvious that my backyard buffet will definitely meet their dietary needs. 

I also learned online that a hawk symbolizes many different things and that a hawk sighting has a lot of different meanings too..one of which is that a hawk facing you is a good omen; sighting a hawk with its back to you is not! Whew! Both were facing me, which at the time I thought was a disadvantage as my daughter wanted to know what their backs looked like to help with identification....I am SO glad I did not see their backs...

Also, a hawk, when sighted, apparently "symbolizes a need to start looking forward, envisioning your path ahead, and perhaps even preparing for a greater role in life"...." Well, what perfect timing for THAT message! A new year on the horizon to look forward to and an opportunity to make it a better year than this last one...and a good omen to go along with it! 

Who knew that a visit from a couple of hawks could lift your spirits like that? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.