The Troll from Trondheim

With the snow falling thickly enough to blot out the view across the Meadows as I opened the blinds this morning , I almost resigned myself to a morning in slippers as 9am approached. However, the thought of a snowy blip was enough to propel me out of the door. 
Edinburgh looked majestic in its fresh white mantle. The crowded roofs in the old town were picked out in white and the castle outlined in snow gained an extra picturesque dimension when glimpsed through the trees. 

The traffic was sparse but what there was soon churned up the pristine carpet on the roads into dirty brown tracks. The tourists were nowhere to be found and the shops empty.

Later I took the bus to Morningside, and handed in a Christmas Card to David and Luca, but didn’t stay as I had a book to return to the Library. 
Why is it that, confronted by shelves of books, my mind goes blank and I cannot think of the names of any authors whose books I have read. A lovely librarian noticing me apparently unable to find anything, asked me what I was looking for and I confessed total amnesia on any authors’ names unless I recognised them on the shelf. Under gentle questioning I came up with 3 authors- Nial Williams, Maggie O’Farrell and Lady Anne Glennconner. Needless to say, none of their books were available, so I am about 15th on the borrowing  list for all of them. I suppose that is why I usually splash the cash and buy my books.  I did come away though, with a book by Mark Haddon whose name was familiar for having written ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’.

I’ve done with the outside world today-I’m holed up with my cosy jumper and down  jacket in the coolth of the Dower House. A G&T  beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.