Walking with Intent

You know you are acclimatising to the cold when 2°feels relatively mild even when the phone says it feels like 0°. The sun is out and yesterday’s snow is almost a memory here.

I met with my Sunday Merry Widow in a very quiet Söderberg. I imagine the usual punters were elsewhere frenetically Christmas shopping while we leisurely sipped our lattes and described how we were denying the energy companies any more money than last year. How we do this is to delay putting the heating on and to wear so many layers of warm clothes that when Sheila’s folding cup, in the extra, fell to the ground while walking home, we wondered which of us could bend sufficiently to pick it up.

The sunshine looked so inviting and as outside seemed a better bet than inside, I went on the prowl to stock up on gluten free mince pies in readiness for the Boxing Day family get together. Not only did I get the mince pies, I got this blip outside the Students’ Union in Bisto Square. This lady certainly seems as though she has somewhere to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.