Sydney or Bust 16A

See LARGE.

I guess I am cheating a little bit here but during the excursion I shot over 300 images and it was darn hard to know what to leave out of the official gallery. I have decided to break up the journey into TWO parts with 32 pictures in each. This part takes the journey from Pyrmont to Darling Harbour. Follow my adventures:

Sydney or Bust Stage 16A

This is the replica of "Her Majesty's Bark Endeavour". I used to think the correct spelling was "Barque", but the references I have consulted insist on "Bark". In any event this is supposed to be the most meticulously authentic reproduction of any historic ship in the world today. Built in Australia from original drawings, it was launched in 1993.

At 109 feet, I never cease to be impressed at how small this ship is. 96 people crammed into this thing for a two year voyage. It was a tough life, back then and Captain Cook must have been a very brave man.

For tomorrow's blip I shall be posting access to Stage 16B. I beg you not to miss it. On a truly perfect day, it entails a tour of Darling Harbour, a trip in a harbour ferry to Milson's Point and a spectacular walk back across the Sydney Harbour Bridge to "Australia's front door", Sydney's Circular Quay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.