Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Frosty Lane

A trip to Addenbrookes hospital for my husband today, which was fraught with problems. Firstly, there was freezing fog and it was dark when I needed to leave, so I decided that the train would be a good idea. The first train to leave our village was 0857 hours, so once on the train I rang the unit and said we would be slightly late; they were fine with this.
 
After the procedure we wanted to walk through the corridors to the concourse, but part way there the doors were locked. It meant going back and round the outside. However, I know the hospital so well that I knew another short-cut and their doors were open. While we were waiting for a taxi, someone else complained at the front desk that she had tried to walk through and found the doors locked, they told her she had to walk round the outside. I am not sure why they were locked unless it was because it was a Sunday.
 
After coffee we went to catch the bus to the railway station and my husband fell over; he is very unsteady on his feet especially when it is very cold. Immediately there was a Paramedic, a Nurse, a Physician’s Assistant and three random people who appeared from nowhere to help. He was put in a wheelchair and I ordered a taxi on an app I have. I have used this before and you can track the vehicle as it travels towards you. We caught the train by the skin of our teeth, otherwise we would have had an hour to wait; that was a positive.
 
Today’s picture is of the frost along the lane as we walked home from the railway station.  
 
The temperature at noon today was minus two degrees Celsius.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.