Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Happy Goose Family

I was pretty sure the ducks and geese should be hatching out little ones this time of the year. When I looked nearby, I could find no little ones...

We went to Rochester and bingo! We found a small settling pond at a Wal Mart and there were two families of geese. The first family had five small goslings, but the second, there were eleven little ones!

I know enough about geese to take it slow, so I slowly edged my way toward the family. They moved about, lustily snatching tufts of bright green grass and I just stood nearby, snapping to my heart's content. Unfortunately for me, there was a large guardrail that I had to contend with, but as the family moved down a steep incline to the pond below, I felt like shouting for joy!

I had to shoot into the sunlight or move to the other side of the pond. Moving would mean the family would be off in the distance, so I lifted the camera and shot. When I arrived home and looked at the photos, I was amazed. I merely cropped this photo, but was so happy to see how the sunlight played on the water!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.